Political and Administrative Structure


Kitagwenda District is one district and one county structure.

It has 13 lower local governments (four town councils and nine sub counties). There are 55 parishes and 392 villages, which have been created in the new town councils, sub counties and parishes in a bid to form mandatory councils at LC 111 Levels.

Kitagwenda District comprises of the following Local Governments and Administrative units.


Policy making organ

Kitagwendai District Council is the supreme organ, headed by the LCV Chairperson, supported by an Executive committee of 5 members. Chairperson LCV, the Vice and 3 policy/sectoral Committees.

The Sectoral Committees include:

  • Finance, Administration, Investment, Information and General Purpose
  • Education, Sports, Health, Community Development (Gender, Labour, Youth, Children, Elderly and Disabled), Sanitation and Security.
  • Works, Production (Agriculture, Veterinary, Fisheries, Forestry, Environment, Marketing and Industry), Water, Land, Urban and Regional Planning.

Statutory Bodies There are also statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:

  • District Contracts Committee
  • District Public Accounts Committee
  • District Service Commission
  • District Land Board

A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers replaced the District Tender Board according to the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.

Office of the Resident District Commissioner
It represents the President in the District and ensures that both national and local priorities are given due consideration and are implemented in an accountable manner.

Lower Local Governments
The Town Councils, Sub counties, Parishes/Wards and villages/Cells have councils and executive committees, which coordinate the various functions.